Sunday, January 21, 2018

The Hebron Historical Society

Enjoy Hebron - It's Here To Stay

Anne Ives, Charter Member & Amazing Worker, Passes Away


Less than a day after Anne Ives passed away, this double rainbow appeared over Old Town Hall!

Click here for more about Anne Ives.

The Hebron Historical Society was incorporated in 1965. The Society's mission is to preserve Hebron history and historical artifacts, provide community programs, document and publish historical events that have influenced our community, and to raise sufficient funds to operate independently. We work cooperatively with other boards, commissions and community organizations to further our goals.

To read the By-Laws providing the framework to our organization, click here.

We also host several programs each year, usually in the months of September, October, April, and May. Event topics have ranged from the care and preservation of quilts, to education in one-room schoolhouses, and even the age-old tradition of ice-cutting.

Society members have been active over the years in restoring and maintaining the Old Town Hall and the Burrows Hill School House, and we are the owner of record for both historic buildings.

We also restored the Gull School House. We were greatly aided in this effort by members of Hebron Troop 28 Boy Scouts and their families. Another unique restoration, for which we share stewardship responsibility with Boy Scout Troop 28, is the WW II Civilian Aircraft Observation Post, also known as “Freeman #52. Both of these buildings are located next to the Hebron Town Office Building, and owned by the Town of Hebron.

If you wish to schedule a tour of Old Town Hall, the Burrows Hill Schoolhouse, the Gull Schoolhouse or the Observation Post, please contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., and we will make arrangements for your visit.


President – M.A. Foote   (860-944-3862)

Vice President – Annie Piggott

Secretary – Evelyn Griswold

Treasurer [interim] – Bob Gonci

Past President – Mary-Ellen Gonci

Historian – M.A.Foote

Board Members:  

Roger Billard

Craig Cyr

Jean Cyr

Adam Phelps